AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on garage and car supplies

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Ford CEO Jim Farley said the motors, gearbox and inverters in the company’s new Universal Electric Vehicle platform are about 30% more efficient than BYD’s. Ford says the efficiency enables a smaller, less costly battery, but it has not specified the comparison powertrain or the Fathom pickup’s battery capacity.

Ford CEO Jim Farley said the motors, gearbox and inverters in the automaker’s new Universal Electric Vehicle platform are about 30% more efficient than BYD’s, a comparison he presented during Ford’s third-quarter earnings call. Ford says the efficiency can support a smaller, lower-cost battery for the platform, which is set to debut in the Fathom pickup; the company has not publicly detailed the test basis or identified the BYD powertrain used for comparison.

Farley described the drivetrain efficiency as an advantage for Ford’s plan to compete with Chinese automakers on cost and technology. He said the motors, gearbox and inverters “are about 30% more efficient than theirs,” referring to BYD, and said the gains allow Ford to design a smaller battery. His statement is a Ford executive’s comparison; the material provided does not include independent test results or enough technical detail to verify it against a specific BYD vehicle.

The platform, which Ford calls the Universal Electric Vehicle (UEV), is scheduled to debut with the Fathom pickup, priced from $28,350, according to the report. Ford presents the architecture as a way to reduce costs through fewer parts, improved efficiency and changes to manufacturing. The battery is typically the largest single cost in an electric vehicle, so a smaller pack could help lower the vehicle’s cost if it still meets the company’s range and performance targets.

Ford has not disclosed the Fathom’s battery capacity. Previous reports cited in InsideEVs have estimated a pack of roughly 50 to 60 kilowatt-hours, but that figure is not confirmed by Ford. The report says the pickup is expected to deliver more than 200 miles of range, though the source material does not provide a final, official range rating.

At a glance
reportWhen: Statement made during Ford’s third-quar…
The developmentFord CEO Jim Farley used the company’s third-quarter earnings call to claim that its new EV platform’s drivetrain components are about 30% more efficient than BYD’s.

How Efficiency Could Lower Fathom Costs

The comparison matters because Ford is positioning the UEV platform as a way to make its electric vehicles more affordable, rather than relying only on larger batteries or premium features. If the drivetrain uses less energy, Ford may be able to achieve a given range with a smaller battery, potentially reducing material and manufacturing costs. The claim is especially relevant to the Fathom’s $28,350 starting price, though the available information does not show how much of that price depends on drivetrain efficiency.

The claim also puts a measurable-sounding comparison at the center of Ford’s argument against a major Chinese competitor. BYD’s cost position is often associated with its scale and control over parts of its supply chain. Ford’s UEV effort combines engineering and manufacturing changes, but Farley’s percentage alone does not establish that the complete vehicle will be cheaper or more efficient than a BYD model. Buyers will need published specifications and comparable test results to judge the practical difference.

For customers, the key question is whether a smaller battery can provide useful range without trade-offs in charging time, performance or durability. Those details have not been supplied in the source material. The reported efficiency advantage is a claim about selected drivetrain components, not a disclosed comparison of total vehicle energy use.

Products Worth Considering

DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4-Inch Impact Driver Kit with Battery and Charger (DCF787D1)

DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4-Inch Impact Driver Kit with Battery and Charger (DCF787D1)

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Ford’s UEV Push Against BYD

Ford has described the UEV platform as a response to competition from Chinese automakers, with an emphasis on lowering costs and reworking how vehicles are engineered and built. The Fathom pickup is the platform’s planned first model. Ford says the architecture uses fewer parts and an overhauled manufacturing process, but the source material does not provide a full breakdown of those changes or their expected savings.

BYD is a particularly relevant comparison for Ford: the report says the Chinese automaker surpassed Ford in global sales last year and points to its vertical integration as one factor behind its success. Ford is also drawing lessons from other Chinese manufacturers. Executives said on the same earnings call that a partnership with Geely in Europe is helping Ford learn about lower-cost production and faster product development.

Ford Chief Operating Officer Kumar Galhotra said the UEV platform’s engineering improvements may also benefit the company’s hybrids. That suggests the efficiency work could extend beyond the Fathom and fully electric vehicles, although Ford has not provided specific hybrid models, timings or performance figures in the information available.

““There’s another area that we really found to be quite advantaged relative to a BYD. And that is the efficiency of our motors, gearbox and inverters, which are about 30% more efficient than theirs and allows us to design a battery that’s much less.””

— Jim Farley, Ford CEO, speaking on the company’s third-quarter earnings call

The Comparison Still Lacks Detail

Ford has not identified the BYD vehicle or powertrain against which it measured the UEV components. The source material also gives no test conditions, measurement method, component specifications or independent assessment of the claimed 30% difference. It is unclear whether the comparison concerns a particular operating condition or a broader measure of efficiency.

Ford has not announced the Fathom’s battery size or provided a final range figure in the material cited. The reported 50-to-60-kilowatt-hour estimate and range above 200 miles should not be treated as confirmed specifications. It also remains unknown how much the claimed efficiency gains will reduce the Fathom’s price, or how they will affect charging, performance and real-world energy use.

Fathom Specifications Will Test the Claim

The next useful evidence will be Ford’s release of the Fathom’s official battery capacity, range, charging and performance specifications, along with more detail about the UEV platform. Those figures would help clarify whether the smaller-battery approach delivers the range Ford is targeting and how the pickup compares with vehicles in its price class.

Any direct efficiency comparison would also be easier to evaluate if Ford identifies the BYD model and publishes its methodology or results under comparable conditions. Until then, the 30% figure remains an attributed claim from Ford’s CEO, not a publicly documented, like-for-like test in the information provided. The source material does not give a date for the Fathom’s launch or a timetable for further technical disclosures.

Key Questions

What does Ford say is 30% more efficient?

CEO Jim Farley said the motors, gearbox and inverters in Ford’s Universal Electric Vehicle platform are about 30% more efficient than BYD’s. Ford has not provided the test details in the source material.

Which BYD vehicle did Ford use for comparison?

The specific BYD model or powertrain was not identified in the report. Farley referred to BYD generally.

How could greater efficiency affect the Ford Fathom?

Ford says drivetrain efficiency allows it to design a smaller battery, which could reduce costs. The company has not disclosed the Fathom’s battery capacity or confirmed how much the claimed gains would affect its price or range.

Is the Fathom’s battery size confirmed?

No. The report cites past estimates of roughly 50 to 60 kWh, but Ford has not confirmed the pack size in the information provided.

Source: insideevs.com

You May Also Like

Upfitting Considerations Unique to E‑Transit

Keeping in mind the e-Transit’s unique features is essential to safe and efficient upfitting; discover the key considerations to optimize your build.

Can the E‑Transit Tow? Official Guidance & Alternatives

Ford’s official guidance reveals towing limitations of the E‑Transit, but alternative options and safety tips make it worth exploring further.

Charging Curves Explained & Why They Taper

Meta Description: Many wonder why charging curves taper, and understanding this process reveals crucial insights into battery safety and longevity.

E‑Transit Maintenance: Service Items & Intervals

Here’s your meta description: “Having trouble keeping your E‑Transit in top shape? Discover essential service intervals and maintenance tips to ensure reliability and performance.